STATE OF MINNESOTA IN SUPREME COURT C4-99-404



ORDER ESTABLISHING THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON THE RULES OF CHILD SUPPORT PROCEDURE

WHEREAS, in 1995 the Minnesota Legislature enacted Minnesota Statutes § 518.5511 requiring implementation in each county of an administrative child support process to resolve child support matters involving the public authority; and

WHEREAS, in *Holmberg v. Holmberg* (Minn. Sup. Ct., File Nos. C7-97-926; C8-97-1132, C9-98-33; and C7-97-1512, filed Jan. 28, 1999), this Court held that the current structure of the administrative child support process violates the constitutional constraints on the separation of powers in three ways:

- The administrative process infringes on the district court's jurisdiction in contravention of Minnesota Constitution article VI, § 1;
- Administrative Law Judge jurisdiction is not inferior to the district court's jurisdiction as mandated by Minnesota Constitution article VI, § 3; and
- The administrative process empowers non-attorneys to engage in the practice of law thereby infringing on the court's exclusive power to supervise the practice of law; and

WHEREAS, it is anticipated that during the 1999 session the Minnesota Legislature will enact legislation revising the child support system to place it within the judicial branch; and

WHEREAS, in anticipation of the placement of the child support system within the judicial branch it is necessary to promulgate rules of child support procedure;

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED THAT the Advisory Committee on the Rules of Child Support Procedure is hereby established. The Advisory Committee shall:

- 1. Review all relevant federal and state constitutions, statutes, rules, regulations, and case law:
- 2. Draft for consideration by this Court Proposed Rules of Child Support Procedure; and
- 3. Submit the Proposed Rules of Child Support Procedure to this Court on or before June 1, 1999.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED THAT the Honorable Gary Meyer is appointed as Chair of the Advisory Committee, and that the following persons are appointed as members of the Advisory Committee:

Lou Anderson

Crow Wing County Child Support Supervisor

Ninth Judicial District

Judith Besemer

Brown County Court Administrator

Fifth Judicial District

Julie Brunner

St. Louis County Administrator

Sixth Judicial District

Sue Dosal

State Court Administrator

St. Paul

Hon. Bruce Douglas

District Court Judge

Tenth Judicial District

Hon. Diana Eagon

District Court Judge

Fourth Judicial District

Shawn Fremstad

Legal Services Advocacy Project

Second Judicial District

Lucinda Jesson

Assistant Hennepin County Attorney

Fourth Judicial District

Hon. Gregg Johnson

District Court Judge

Second Judicial District

Laura Kadwell

Director, Child Support Enforcement Div.

Department of Human Services

Hon. Gary Meyer, Chair

District Court Judge

Tenth Judicial District

Mike Moriarity

Special Courts Administrator

Second Judicial District

Mark Ponsolle

Assistant Ramsey County Attorney

Second Judicial District

Ruth Sundermeyer

Aitkin County Child Support Supervisor

Ninth Judicial District

Mark Gardner Attorney at Law Fourth Judicial District

Hon. Sharon Hall
District Court Judge
Tenth Judicial District

Hon. Duane Harves District Court Judge First Judicial District

Beverly Heydinger Supervising Administrative Law Judge Office of Administrative Hearings

Hon. James Hoolihan District Court Judge Seventh Judicial District Sandra Torgerson Assistant Dakota County Attorney First Judicial District

Katie Trotzky Legal Analyst Department of Human Services

Hon. Renee Worke District Court Judge Third Judicial District

Staff:

Judith C. Nord Staff Attorney State Court Administration

Tori Jo Wible Staff Attorney State Court Administration

DATED: 3 12 99

BY THE COURT:

Kathleen Blatz Chief Justice